Awareness

A friend once told me how a woman who had a mortal fear of snakes lived with a snake for quit some time. She was not aware that the snake had made a home of her bedroom. In this case, the snake did not exist (in her world). One day she saw the snake enter the house, and she never set foot in that house again.

He likened this to the two types of unawareness that exist. The awareness that there is something/ a problem and you can/ cannot do something about it, and the complete unawareness that there is something or problem. The later is the most common, and most difficult to remedy. See, unless we realize something needs fixing, we cannot fix it. Take time management for example. How many times do we spend with people with lots of laughter and merry making, but at the end of it, we cannot remember what we were talking about? How many times have we slept late and regret about how we spent our time the next day?

We want productivity in our every sphere of life. How productive are we as individuals? Do I deserve that promotion that is giving me sleepless nights? I know I am better than my colleagues, no question about it… But I’m I better than myself? I’m I comfortable just being better than my colleagues? If I am, then I do not deserve that pay rise or promotion. If I keep challenging myself and becoming better than myself each day, I sure deserve that perk!

May I have the wisdom and strength to KNOW what needs improvement in or around me, and everything else will fall into its place!!!

Leave a comment